UAE Welcomed into BRICS Consortium

logo of BRICS group

The BRICS alliance, representing some of the world’s major emerging economies, has formally incorporated the United Arab Emirates (UAE) as a new member. This key decision was sanctioned by its five original nations: Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.

Leaders from these core countries assembled in Johannesburg between 22nd and 24th August, marking the 15th BRICS summit, where they confirmed the UAE’s inclusion.

The UAE has consistently demonstrated a commitment to collaborative efforts and proactive discourse, primarily within platforms spotlighting developing and nascent economies on the global stage. By joining the BRICS fraternity, the UAE underscores its dedication to upholding multilateralism, targeting global peace and sustainable development.

Historically, the UAE has not been a stranger to BRICS dynamics. Earlier, in June, it was actively involved in the ‘Friends of BRICS’ conclave held in Cape Town, a segment of the BRICS Foreign Ministers Meeting chaired by South Africa.

Furthermore, in October 2021, the UAE became a part of the BRICS New Development Bank. This institution, inaugurated in 2015, was conceived to pool resources for infrastructure and sustainable development ventures, targeting both emerging markets and BRICS member states.

Share With Your Friends

Related News


Never Miss A Story

Get our Weekly recap with the latest news, articles and resources.
Cookie policy
We use our own and third party cookies to allow us to understand how the site is used and to support our marketing campaigns.