Covid-19 Omicron Variant – Kuwait Suspends Flights From 9 African Nations

kuwait omicron variant travel ban

In response to the new Omicron variant of Covid-19, Kuwait has halted direct flights from nine African countries.

Citizens of Kuwait arriving from these countries must undergo an institutional quarantine of seven days

An official spokesperson for the government quoted by the official news agency KUNA said that the suspension will take effect starting on Sunday. It will not affect cargo planes.

The Kuwait News Agency reports that nine countries have been banned entry for non-Kuwaitis, including South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Eswatini, Zambia, Lesotho and Malawi. Kuwaiti nationals returning from these countries should undergo a quarantine period of seven days in an institution.

Entry bans are applicable to all travelers from these countries, regardless of whether they travel directly or through other countries, unless they reside outside these countries for at least 14 days.

Share With Your Friends


Never Miss A Story

Get our Weekly recap with the latest news, articles and resources.
Cookie policy
We use our own and third party cookies to allow us to understand how the site is used and to support our marketing campaigns.