‘Easy on Me’ by Adele breaks the Spotify record for most streams in one day

adele easy on me

There’s no stopping Adele – and this time she’s back with a bang.

Spotify announced on Friday that singer-songwriter Adele’ first single since 2016, “Easy on Me,” had officially broken the record for most streams in a single day after its release.

Chart Data, a Twitter account that tracks Spotify data, writes that the song “Easy on Me” and BTS’ “Butter” now share the top two Spotify single-day streams with over 20 million each.

The song was released at midnight U.K. time on Friday, which means it was released stateside on Thursday at 4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET. The song left fans feeling refreshed and its windswept music video impressed critics as well.

In addition to its audio-only success, the song is also performing well on other platforms – around 2 p.m. PT on Friday, the song’s music video had garnered 36 million views and the song was also topping the iTunes charts in the United States.

Adele is due to release “30,” her first album since 2015’s “25,” on Nov. 19. In an official announcement on Instagram, Adele outlined the journey album-making has been for her.

“I’ve shed many layers but also wrapped myself in new ones. Discovered genuinely useful and wholesome mentalities to lead with, and I feel like I’ve finally found my feeling again,” she wrote. “I’d go as far as to say that I’ve never felt more peaceful in my life.”

Headline

Never Miss A Story

Get our Weekly recap with the latest news, articles and resources.
Cookie policy
We use our own and third party cookies to allow us to understand how the site is used and to support our marketing campaigns.